1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Perfect for my beginners needs ?.

Discussion in 'Beginner's Corner' started by Myke Humberstone, Apr 11, 2017.

1. After receiving responses to my first enquiry thanks, i wonder if anyone out there would kindly recommend some free? photographic software that would be ideal? for a complete beginner just starting out, or if necessary software that i can pay for. It has to be easy to understand and use nothing too complicated. Please bear with me on this i have looked and there seems to be a whole lot of software a minefield for someone like me.
    I have a new Nikon DSLR,

2. Geren

Geren Well-Known Member

I've never used it but whenever anyone mentions 'free photo editing software', GIMP seems to be the most quoted source. You can read a review here and download the software here:

http://www.techradar.com/news/the-best-free-photo-editor

The other one that I do have is the NIK collection, also mentioned in that article.

I currently have photoshop, using a student discount which has made the entire package relatively affordable. However, I barely use any of it so once I'm no longer a student I will need to re-evaluate what I'm actually prepared to pay for and the answer may well be 'nothing'.

As I said, I don't know much about GIMP but with all these programmes, the problems usually arise because you don't know what it is that you don't know how to do. I have found google and youtube videos more use than an instruction book. My only other advice is that whichever software you end up using, always ALWAYS work on a duplicate of your original file so that if everything goes south you haven't ruined your only copy, and save as a TIFF so that you can open it in something else later if necessary.

3. EightBitTony

EightBitTony Well-Known Member

It depends what you want (as always).