1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

General Focus question

Discussion in 'Help Team' started by pr0xibus, Mar 19, 2017 at 12:31 PM.

1. pr0xibus

pr0xibus New Member

Afternoon Folks

I have no experience in photography, one day I was literally in a camera shop and decided what the heck I need a camera, so I purchased a fairly cheap Nikon D3400 with a standard 18-55 Lens. I have used it a few times but today was the first proper time out and about with the kids etc :) Anyway All settings were on manual, whilst using the digital screen to check the focus/iso etc it all looked perfect but when it came to loading them up on the computer the focus definitely isn't as sharp as it should

My question is do you guys generally use the screen or viewfinder to take pictures. I wear glasses etc and thought the screen would be better, whilst taking the pictures I was thinking Jimmy Olsen eat your heart out these are going to be great, but quite disappointed when i got home. Yes, sure its my first proper time on the camera but i half expected what i seen on screen would be identical to what was on computer screen. Very subtle changes in focus are certainly hard to detect.

There is a question somewhere in the blurb above, maybe I am just looking for pointers :)

2. PeteRob

PeteRob Well-Known Member

Hi, there are 2 things that can make an image look soft - one is focus and the other is shake. I'm not sure what you mean by all settings on manual. That is usually a bad move unless you know what your are doing.

If you chose manual focus then it can be more difficult to do on a modern digital camera than with an old film camera which was designed to help you focus manually. Generally autofocus is robust - if the camera focuses on the right thing which it might not do if you tell it to use all the focussing points and decide for itself.