1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best budget e-mount landscape lense

Discussion in 'Sony Chat' started by Martyn hardy, Feb 24, 2017.

1. Martyn hardy

Martyn hardy Member

Hi. I am fairly new to photography. I currently have a Sony a6000 with a 16-50mm kit lens and a 55-210mm lens. Due to being a keen hiker my preferred photography subject is landscape. I have spent alot of time on Google etc trying to find which lens would be best suited to myself and my budget (£250 ish. Which I know isn't alot). The problem I am finding is, within my budget I have read alot stating there isn't much difference between the wide lenses such as sigma and samyang and my kit lense?

Is this the case?

If so should I stick to my kit lense for now and use the money towards something else to help my photography such as a filter set and new tripod?

Thankyou

2. Zou

Zou Well-Known Member

The 16-50 is a decent enough lens when stopped down, but at wide angles the distortion is pretty poor albeit correctable in editing. The advantage of a prime (14mm/16mm Samyangs for example) is they should be better optically corrected and consequently more reliable edge to edge. Are you seeing anything in the performance of your 16-50 which makes you want something better? If not, save the money and invest in a decent tripod, remote release etc. Alternatively try renting the lenses you are interested in and see if you can spot any improvements.

3. Martyn hardy

Martyn hardy Member